Aboriginal Fisheries Division

The Aboriginal Fisheries Division’s role is to assist First Nations and aboriginal groups in the management of their fisheries while building respectful working relationships. DFO, through its various programs, supports aboriginal communities in their food, social, ceremonial and commercial fisheries.

Aboriginal Groups of the Gulf Region

Within the Gulf Region, there are 14 First Nations (listed below) and two Native Councils: the New Brunswick Aboriginal Peoples Council and the Native Council of Prince Edward Island.

Map of the First Nations of the Gulf Region

The map shows the Gulf Region which includes Prince Edward Island, the New Brunswick and Nova Scotia coastlines bordering the Gulf of St. Lawrence, as well as Northwestern New Brunswick.

The Gulf Region’s 14 First Nations located on the map are listed below.

New Brunswick

  1. Eel River Bar
  2. Pabineau
  3. Esgenoôpetitj (Burnt Church)
  4. Madawaska Maliseet
  5. Tobique
  6. Metepenagiag (Red Bank)
  7. Eel Ground
  8. Elsipogtog (Big Cove)
  9. Indian Island
  10. Bouctouche

Prince Edward Island

  1. Lennox Island
  2. Abegweit

Nova Scotia

  1. Pictou Landing
  2. Paq’tnkek

For additional information on the Aboriginal Fisheries Division and its programs, please consult the Department’s national website.